Aussies in running for award

Two Australian sportsmen are among those being considered for nomination for the 2010 Laureus world sportsman of the year, recognising achievements during 2009.

The eventual winners, chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the sports jury made up of 46 of top sportsmen and sportswomen, will be unveiled during a an awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi in early March.

Hoping to be nominated are fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, named 2009 Cricketer of the Year in the International Cricket Council Awards and Craig Alexander, 35, who won the Hawaiian Ironman world championship for the second straight year, becoming only the fourth man in history to successfully defend the title.

There is a two-part voting process to find the winners of the Laureus world sports awards — first, a selection panel of sports editors, writers and broadcasters from more than 150 countries vote to create a shortlist of six nominations in several categories.

Then members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, including Dawn Fraser, Cathy Freeman and Steve Waugh, vote by secret ballot to select the Award winners.
Read more from: Industry/Business News
Tags: None
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: